I Might Have An Addiction

I seriously cannot stop myself from buying discount bananas.

I mean… how could I not buy them?

  1. They are incredibly cheap.
  2. I love bananas.
  3. My family loves bananas.
  4. I frequently bake with banana.

I kinda need to stop because I am running out of room in my freezer. It’s currently stuffed with frozen bananas, greek yogurt, mixed berries, coffee ice cubes, grass fed beef, and pomegranate raspberry sherbet.

Good news is, I used up seven ripe bananas today by baking my Seven Banana Banana Bread. (Yeah, I’m totally original when it comes to recipe names.) Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 7 medium-sized ripe bananas

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease two medium loaf pans.
  2. In a large bowl, sift both flours, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Combine applesauce and brown sugar in a separate bowl; stir in mashed bananas and eggs.
  3. Stir wet ingredients into dry mixture. Do not over stir!
  4. Divide batter into two loaf pans, and bake for 40-45 minutes. Turn off the oven and take the loaves out when they are done; the toothpick should come out clean when inserted into the centre of the loaf.
  5. Allow banana bread to cool before slicing.

I like to cut each loaf into 12 slices. You can divide yours up even more if you wish, but I find that 1/12 of a loaf is the perfect size for an afternoon snack – not too big, and not too small.

The best part?

Each slice is only 79 calories!

Comment below if you have a favourite banana bread recipe! I’d love to try them all!

❤ Jessica

2 thoughts on “I Might Have An Addiction

  1. Pingback: Sunny Sundays | Chocolate Covered Chickpeas

  2. I live in Bombay where bananas are available year-round, and since you don’t get a lot of berries here, bananas are the one fruit you can rely on for baking! I luurve banana bread. And I think that you named the recipe perfectly- when there are 7 bananas, why not? :p

Leave a Reply

