My First Time

I had my first Chinese steamed dumplings today!

This is the final recipe from my friend as part of our recipe swap. (If you missed the previous recipes, click here and here.)

I made a humungous batch – 28 dumplings to be exact. Uhm, note to self: do NOT make huge batches of anything on the first attempt.

27 out of the 28 dumplings fell apart because the dough was too thin and they had too much filling. Only one survived. 😦 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t tell you how many times I photographed this one lone dumpling. And even then, I was still dissatisfied with the photos. Why can’t they look more like this?Anyways… although they weren’t the most photogenic, they certainly tasted delicious. The filling, consisting of pork and spinach, was juicy and bursting with flavour. The dough was soft, light, and had a subtle sweetness.

I wolfed down four in record time. I will definitely make these again! (Hopefully, they all turn out perfect this time!)

Have you had dumplings before?

❤ Jessica

Leave a Reply

