Professional Ice Cream Taste Tester

Wouldn’t that be the best job in the world?

Recently, I’ve been craving ice cream sandwiches like crazy. And when I mean like crazy, I mean LIKE CRAZY.

I have vanilla ice cream in the freezer, but it’s missing the chocolate wafers. We all know chocolate makes everything better, right? 😉

When I couldn’t resist any longer, I went to the nearest Safeway and picked up not one, but three boxes of vanilla ice cream sandwiches: Skinny Cow, Chapman’s, and Eating Right (the generic brand sold at Safeway).

1st up: Skinny Cow

These were on sale for around $6. Although I saved a dollar (they usually retail at $7 where I live for a box of 5), I still think they are pricey. The first thing I noticed about these was how thick they were. (The photos below don’t do them any justice.) I found the round shape and the swirl of vanilla ice cream in the centre aesthetically pleasing. Upon biting into one, however, I was disappointed. Instead of rich and creamy, the vanilla ice cream turned out to be bland and icy. The chocolate wafers weren’t very chocolatey; they were extremely sticky, though, which quickly got annoying since I had to constantly lick off the chocolate wafers from my fingers. Overall, I would give Skinny Cow 3 stars out of 5.

Next up: Eating Right

These were a lot cheaper than Skinny Cow. A box of 6 at regular price costs $3.70, which equals to around $0.62/sandwich. They are rectangular shaped with a thin layer of vanilla ice cream. I’m not too sure why, but all the paper wrappers were stained yellow. (I’ve encountered this problem before, so I wasn’t grossed out, but it could potentially scare off people who are trying it for the first time.) The vanilla ice cream was a tad too sweet for my taste, which proved to be problematic because it overpowered the taste of the chocolate wafers. Similar to the Skinny Cow sandwiches, the wafers were extremely sticky. These weren’t much better than Skinny Cow, but I would rate Eating Right 3.5 stars out of 5 because the vanilla ice cream was creamier.

Last, but not least: Chapman’s

These were the cheapest out of the three. A box of 12 at regular price costs around $6! They are rectangular shaped as well, but contain a generous layer of vanilla ice cream. The vanilla ice cream was rich and creamy, and the chocolate wafers had just the right amount of sweetness and bitterness. I read the ingredient list, and the first thing was real cream. No wonder! The other two consisted mainly of modified milk ingredients. Real cream > modified milk ingredients. The wafers weren’t sticky, and it didn’t melt as quickly as the other two. Chapman’s deserves 4.5 stars out of 5.

Delicious! I enjoyed every single bite!What is your favourite brand of ice cream sandwiches?

❤ J

One thought on “Professional Ice Cream Taste Tester

  1. Pingback: We Were Mint to Be | Chocolate Covered Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

